SUE SQUARED

In high school, I was very involved in my temple’s youth group, MIFTY. We were fortunate to have 3 wonderful women as leaders, role models, and mentors. By coincidence, they were all named Sue. Their nicknames became, “Sue Prime,” “Sue Squared,” and “Sue Cubed.”

After graduation, I lost touch with them. Thankfully, Facebook allowed me to reconnect with the first two. This past summer, I got to see Sue Squared for the first time in almost 20 years. I went to her birthday party, and loved celebrating with her & her family. She’s battling cancer, now. Today, I learned that it’s metastasized and gone into her brain. She’s quite the fighter, so she’s doing radiation, then will take a chemo medication. I went to see her today before her radiation treatment. Despite being the in hospital, she was in good spirits. When the paramedics came to take her to the cancer center for her treatment, she told them how she knew me, and that I had been one of her favorite youth group kids. I didn’t know that until today.

In Judaism, we have a prayer for healing, Mi Shebeirach. While she may not recover completely, I pray that she recovers just enough to give her a quality of life that allows her to enjoy many more years with her loved ones.

One thought on “SUE SQUARED

Leave a comment